¡Cuando es demanda, Grupo MedLegal®... Manda!

Grupo MedLegal connects consumers with participating lawyers and/or doctors and in no case provides legal or medical advice nor does it intend to be a law firm, lawyer referral service or medical provider.

Grupo MedLegal® > Blog > Pennsylvania > What Happens if My Employer Does Not Have Workers’ Insurance?

What Happens if My Employer Does Not Have Workers’ Insurance?

Pennsylvania law requires almost all employers to comply with the requirements of Workers’ Compensation Law in Pennsylvania. Some employers are covered by other types of insurance for their workers. These include federal employees, railroad employees, and dock workers, among others.

Some employers opt to get insurance coverage for their workers by sponsoring self-insured health plans. In spite of the fact that in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, workers’ compensation law covers almost all workers in the state, sometimes a worker is injured and the employer does not have workers’ compensation insurance and is not self-insured. Don’t let yourself be intimidated or fooled by unscrupulous employers who suggest you use your private insurance in this case.

You can still file a claim, but it is advisable that you get legal advice before presenting your claim. At Grupo MedLegal, we have a wealth of experience in work accident cases; our experienced lawyers have been fighting for the rights of our Hispanic community in Philadelphia for more than three decades.

What should you do to claim your benefits?

In Pennsylvania, there is an uninsured employers guaranty fund for those who are injured at work whose employers do not have any type of workers’ compensation insurance.

The first step in presenting a claim when your employer is uninsured is to fill out a form called a notice of claim against uninsured employer. This form must be filed within 45 days of the date that you find out that your employer is uninsured. Then, 21 days after filing the above- mentioned form, you can file a claim requesting compensation.

This form is called a claim petition for benefits from the uninsured employer. If the uninsured employers guaranty fund denies your claim for benefits, you have the same rights to appeal as workers that have regular workers’ insurance.

Appeals must be filed within 20 calendar days from the date printed on the first page of the judge’s decision to deny workers’ compensation benefits.

We won’t let your rights be violated. We will fight for you relentlessly and aggressively until you get the compensation you deserve. Our reputation has been established thanks to our hard work and competence in the field of work dismissal claims. There is nothing that gives us more satisfaction than seeing our clients satisfied. We believe in justice and are not afraid of big businesses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us

You can call us at 1800 838 3838 hours a day, 7 days a week, or fill out the following form.

What's new
Contact Us

You can call us at 1800 838 3838 hours a day, 7 days a week, or fill out the following form.

[mc4wp_form id="13860"]